What programming languages should I learn for web development?

Marc van Leeuwen

Premium Member
My goal is to build a funny jokes web online which has around 30 categories and hundreds of funny jokes. I have never coded before. I have done some research and I think I am more interested in "front-end" web development. Please correct me if the term is wrong. I don't want to learn creating graphics, it can be done later. I would like to know the best language to build a complete website, what should a newbie learn? I am pretty sure I will need the basics, HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, am I correct?

Rob Whisonant

If the site has static pages you just need to learn HTML and CSS to start. If it will be pulling data from a database, then you need to also learn PHP and mySQL.

Ron Killian

Or save your self ALOT of time and frustration by going with something like Wordpress. Something that is already done for you.

You could have your site up and running by tomorrow. Instead of weeks or months (or longer) of coding something.

Not against coding, just can be a huge time waster for some people, for some projects. Since you've never coded, you could end up spending all kinds of time and not have much to show.

Just a thought :)

Mike001

As Rob said, begin with HTML and CSS, then if you decide that you want to really get creative with your site and make your jokes dynamically generated from a database you can add PHP and MySQL, not really needed up front in the beginning but adds to your abilities once you learn page structure and design.

Learning web development is a very rewarding career, if that is what interests you. It can be a lot of fun and give you a lot of challenges as you learn to develop and design web pages and web sites.