What is a programmer's life like?

Devin Holdcraft

Are you a programmer or not, if no, what do you think about them? if yes how is your personal life, family life, friends, work environment and everything that you can think that a programmer often does throughout the day?

Rob Whisonant

I have been a programmer since about 1973 or so. My life has been about the same as anyone elses. The one thing I do enjoy is that I can work from anyplace that I want. I do a lot of my work at the beach on a laptop.

When I am coding a major program or chasing down bugs and find them, I do feel a since of accomplishment. But other professions can have the same feelings.

So bottom line. I enjoy what I do but it's nothing really special when compared to what other do in their professions.

EpicGlobalWeb

It's terrible. I have no friends. My only satisfaction comes from solving complex math equations on large windows or glass in black permanent marker. I have no clue how to talk to people and am so desperate for affection that I developed the world's first female robot. Her name is Lilly and I can turn her on at the type of a prompt. She runs on Linux. But even she is tired of me and threatens to shut down because I play World of Warcraft too much. I've developed gout because I only eat pizza rolls and drink Mountain Dew.

Also when I walk around the street (at night only because the sun rays will destroy my pale skin) I see the whole world in down-streaming green crypto-text.

No just kidding, it's cool though. I really enjoy programming because it changes a lot and keeps my mind busy. I like that it's a high-demand skill and can do things most people can't or don't have the patience for. Been programming since I was 12 (ActionScript baby!) and married since 22. 7 kids. Nice house. I probably talk more than most programmers.