How do you know when your server is down?

arindamb

You can not view your site all the day to see it when it is down by your hosting/server issue. Do you guys here using any free or paid services like Pingdom or something else to monitor your server uptime/downtime?
Just curious what tools do you use to get instant updates on the status of your server? How do you deal with this situation?

LuxVM

You can not view your site all the day to see it when it is down by your hosting/server issue. Do you guys here using any free or paid services like Pingdom or something else to monitor your server uptime/downtime?
Just curious what tools do you use to get instant updates on the status of your server? How do you deal with this situation?

Hello arindamb,

We personally use StatusCake which can monitor almost anything, you can monitor: HTTP/HTTPS, TCP, ICMP, DNS, SMTP and PUSH. They have both Free and Paid plans and i have been using them for a few years now, very handy.

Here is there website: https://www.statuscake.com

Regards,
Adam

ElixantTechnology

Hey,

Another option would be https://hetrixtools.com/; we currently utilize their Blacklist & Uptime monitoring tools... Pretty good so far; first decent company I found that is capable of watching all of our subnets.

ulterios

ulterios
Wow, I didn't know about them and they seem pretty good. The free account lets you monitor up to 5 websites, where many just allow 1 or 2 on free plans.

Thanks for the information.

tarunap

You can try cloudstats, [URLnofo]https://cloudstats.me/[/URLnofo] which monitors the uptime and send the details.

jason

You could use Nagios, or PRTG Network Monitor, both can be configured to send you emails, if your server is down

SenseiSteve

Panopta, AlertSite (SmartBear), Hyperspin, Site Uptime, Alertra and Binary Canary are some other services that are available to monitor your website.

hostslim

You can use the tools from pingdom as well.

clickcloudit