How long does it take you to write an article?

lkovnih226

Hi everyone,

I would like to get your ideas of how long does it take you or other writers here to completely write an article from scratch with a 400 to 500 word count, not just rewriting, including all research, writing and revisions.

What usually do you do when writing an article for your blog?

Ron Killian

I don't do much research, as I only write about what i know, so maybe my input doesn't count. 500 words maybe 30 minutes. Depends, some times quicker, some times longer, depends if I am in the zone or not. Not that I am a professional writer :)

adeaugustus

It all depends. Usually write a very detailed long post for my blog, a typical blog post might take a week of planning and writing. I use pictures, videos and infographics when necessary. The idea is to make the post as explicit as possible.

Another factor is the niche. Obviously, if you're in the entertainment niche, you must learn how to write short but entertaining post, because you're expected to post almost every hour. But in my blog niche some authority blog don't even post more than once a month. I post twice or thrice in a month because I have other commitment.

aemathenge

My personal speciality is the five hundred word blog article.
Paragraph break
Depending on topic and keywords, it takes me about one and a half hours from start to finish.
Paragraph break
This covers research, actual editing of the draft through to finish in United Kingdom English, and adjustments arising from citing from copyscape.
Paragraph break
As a freelancing writer however, how much a client is wishing to pay largely determines how long creating an article shall take.

Alex de Borba

My process of writing an article is rather different from others I suppose.