What browser do you use for web development?

Emilio

Not sure if this question has been talked about, but I would like to know your personal thoughts. What browser do you use for web development? and why do you think it's better than the others in your own opinion?

biGGuns

I am not developing a lot, and I am not very good at it, but when I do I use FF I really like FireBug.

Developer

As a developer for the last 15+ years, I can say from true experience
that you do not want to use just 1 or 2 browsers. It is always best to
test the sites you develop in as many of the more widely used browsers
as you possibly can.

Whenever developing any new website, especially for some of my higher
end clients, I even go so far as to bug my sister (who has a Mac) so she
can check the site(s) on her Mac using Safari and another popular Mac
based browser.

Now a days, you definitely want to check the site on as many mobile based
browsers as well.

Once the site is developed, up and running, your job as the developer is still
not done. You should continuously check the site statistics to see what the
top 3 - 5 browsers are so that current visitors are getting the best experience.

I am well known (locally) for my OCD when it comes to my design services and
checking (and double and triple checking) things constantly, so I may go to some
extremes that others may not, however, as a developer, I personally feel that it
is my job to give the client the best result I can possibly give them for the money
they paid -- even AFTER the site is launched as that is when you can really tell
what is happening.

Also, when performing "browser testing", I highly suggest that you do actual
physical checking on the multiple browsers. Do NOT simply use "browser simulators"
as they are not always accurate and definitely not AS accurate as they should be.

If you prefer not to install multiple browsers on your own machine, employ the help