Do you consider the source you learn from?

Rob Whisonant

This question may need a little explaining. Let's say you want to learn affiliate marketing. You look for courses and information on the subject. You find tons of information about affiliate marketing.

Now the question. What source do you use to learn? 99% of the information is put out by people that make very little or no money actually doing affiliate marketing. Basically buying from them is buying theory.

Do you actually take the time to investigate and find a source that has actually been successful doing affiliate marketing?

So you can learn theory, or you can learn from someone that actually makes big money from what you want to learn.

Something to think about, the next time you go looking to "learn" something new. :)

Anyone want to add some thoughts to this?

Mike001

Great point Rob, and one that should be considered. I am new to the marketing aspect of the web and that was one of the reasons I joined this site. I really wanted to learn more about marketing online and how the people here were being successful at doing that.

I have taken quite a few college classes on marketing, but like you stated, most all of that is theory, written by people that have probably never actually marketed anything in the real world. And to be honest a lot of it was repetitive and boring....

I also noticed that most of the material I was reading was geared more towards a brick and mortar business and through there are similarities, there are also major differences in how to approach building a business.

I have learned a lot reading through the posts on this site. Your posts and Ron's post have really been good. They tend to give good information that just needs to be researched.

I think this could be a great conversation and I will follow how the members respond because it will be interesting and helpful picking up new concepts.

Muzzamil