Monetizing Google Plus Communities - Your excperiences

Ergoprime

I want to make a Google Plus Community and let it grow for about 6 months, till I begin to post some ads and drive traffic to my sites. I have no experience with Google Plus Communities, so I would like to ask you some questions about your knowledge with Google Plus and monetization:

How many (active) members do you need in a Google Plus Communitiy to make at least a living from it?

How can I ensure an active members base?

Of course specific niches are better than general ones, but how big is the gap? Let's say you have a community about Bodybuilding and one about Funny Pics. How big does my "Funny Pics" Community has to be, so that it makes at least as much money as the Bodybuilding Community? What is your rough estimate?

How long do you need to get 1000 members? How long for 10000?

I am looking forward to your answers, your positiv and negativ experiences!

Rob Whisonant

Is there a reason you want to build up on Google+ instead of Facebook? Facebook has a lot more traffic and easier to attract likes and joins.

EpicGlobalWeb

You need 16 days to get 1,000 members. :p

Facebook might be easier, as mentioned, but at the same time, G+ is still free advertising space and should be fully utilized. The key to using G+ effectively isn't as clear to me as LinkedIn or Facebook. However, your best bet is to push your "front material" and give it away (e-books, articles, pictures, similar things like that). That's your bait.

The purpose of your bait is to get people to notice you. They don't need to join or follow you yet, just to notice you. Then after short times, just invite like crazy.