Using templates for a website?

wallet

I have used templates in the past, because I didn't have money and is cheaper this way, besides I wanted my website to be unique and compelling, so I have used a framework template in which I have incorporated php functions and markup for common layout techniques and fluid content.
A friend of mine told me that is better to have multiple templates. Now I don't know what to do, I am new in this, and I am trying to do my best.
What is your advice for me?

Kharyode

I absolutely think that web designers should use multiple templates, by doing so new things come to play like learning new things on multiple templates.

Multiple templates help to apply different situations.
And can help in sending envelop that include templates.
Also it's ease ones work.
It fast and saves time.

Mike001

Personally I would stay away from templates unless you have access to all the behind the scenes code and know how to optimize it for SEO.

Most off the shelf templates are out of date, both in design aspects and aspects pertaining to SEO, not the fault of the designer just the requirements and specifications change so quickly.

It is much better to design your own pages or templates, then you can update the specs and SEO areas quickly as they need to be updated and youhave complete control of the site layout.

sree31

If you're new to templates, stick to using just one template - easier to manage and customize. If you face limitations with your existing template, you can use a different one, instead of using multiple templates. Also use a popular template so you can easily search for documents and get help from their online community.

wallet

That is what I should do, stick to using just one template, is exactly what I thought it would be better. Is really hard when I am a beginner in all this, hope I will manage in the end!
Thank you all for your answers!

eestiman