Are Fake Testimonials Illegal?

elzorro

It comes from a making money site where you are offering products to visitors or potential customers. I was wondering if you use fake testimonials, is that illegal? I am just asking because I see them on almost every health websites or web hosting sites where feedback from customers are not verified with detailed information.

Rob Whisonant

If you live or market to the US they sure are illegal. The FTC has started cracking down on these. If you have a testimonial on your site, you better be able to prove who it was from at the least.

The FTC also has disclaimer guide lines you should follow when profiting off a testimonial.

ecole11j

I'm not a lawyer so I can't say for sure. I'm always a little hesitant to give anything that could be considered legal advice. Regardless of whether or not it's illegal, it's at least immoral.

HazelDJ

It comes from a making money site where you are offering products to visitors or potential customers. I was wondering if you use fake testimonials, is that illegal? I am just asking because I see them on almost every health websites or web hosting sites where feedback from customers are not verified with detailed information.
Yes, fake testimonials are rampant everywhere. This is a strategy of a company to increase their sales. In our country Philippines, I could see a statement in some heath products saying " No approved therapeutic claim. This is because the effect of a certain alternative medicine will vary depending upon the disposition of one's body. In relation to your query, if there is a law speculated for that matter, it will depend upon your country if there is a law for that.

Rogue