Which OS should I choose for my VPS?

Maxwell

Hi everyone,

I think I will use a VPS soon but I have no more experience on using a VPS
between Ubuntu, CentOS, Debian, Arch Linux and Fedora when creating a droplet then I should go with ?
which is more advantages for my sites when I use PHP and mySQL, apache

any advice?
Thanks in advanced

Last edited:
Do you plan to have a control panel? cPanel for example being the most popular would require CentOS 6 from the list you've provided.

Maxwell

how many RAMs will cPanel consume if I setsup control panel?
I saw some options like CentOs 6.4 x64 CentOs 6.4 x32 CentOs 5.8 x64 and CentOs 5.8 x32 I don't know what does it mean? I should choose which is popular and stable for my site?
which details for each one? can you suggest?

Is your provider offering you full server management? What is your budget for this VPS server and what specs are you getting?

Either way, go with: CentOs 6.4 x64 which can then be upgraded to 6.5 if not already installed. With the questions you're asking I think it is safe to say you will need a control panel of some sort, I'd even stretch to say you need full server management to ensure you're covered though that is optional.

cPanel can run up anywhere to a few hundred MB ram to run on a VPS. Generally, you should be fine to run some websites on a 512MB ram server though more the better. If you want room to grow, go with 1 GB ram or find another control panel.

There are numerous free control panels and other commercial ones other than cPanel. If you're starting out though I really do recommend a fully managed VPS to save you the headaches of upgrades, security issues etc - In most cases, cPanel will be included for free.

Maxwell

Budget around 10 or $20 a month, I'm learning about VPS and I think I can manage a vps myself :)
I heard about Centminmod that allow me setup mysql, php, vhost,..functions for a vps, it is right?