Any Suggestions should I create a Plugin?

Kal K

I am thinking a new idea to promote and increase SEO score for my site by creating a wordpress plugin and wonder if any fellow webmasters have suggestions on the best way to about getting it built.

Should I go overseas? Partner with someone? What are the rough costs? Pitfalls to avoid?

I'm know basic about programming for WP and I think I can do it correctly.

Any tips on getting this built or the best way to go about would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks webmasters!

elcidofaguy

Hiya Kal,

If it was me I would develop it myself... That way you can easily maintain and enhance it... But that said my background is software development... Not knowing the exact requirements I'm unable to assess the estimated development effort...

The costs for experienced programmers can vary dramatically from say around $20 - $100 per hour... So you're probably best figuring out total development/delivery costs with milestones.... If you do decide to hire someone then I would use escrow service to hold funds.... In addition don't be surprised if the timelines shift to the right and that you have under estimated the total effort... So make sure to have some money as contingency... I would put the work out to bid and see what offers you get back, before making a final move...

Now dont forget maintenance/upgrading your plugin.. With Wordpress changing rapidly chances are that you will have to keep fixing things which break on new WP version roll-out as well as identified bugs/conflicts such as with other plugins... So there will be a long term cost associated too.... As a rough estimate I would put that as 20% annually against the total costs for development...

If you do decide on hiring someone, make sure that it is well documented as well as plenty of source code comments so that another developer can pick it up... You will also have to think about user guides, security/protection etc...