Web.com vs. Big Commerce

NEB

Greetings folks,

I am getting ready to launch an e-commerce site to sell apparel online. The store will be small at first, we'll have between 20 and 50 items most likely. We are obviously hoping to grow the business, so having decent scaleability is important. I spoke to some successful online entrepreneurs, and web developers they use, and Big Commerce was highly recommended. So my initial strategy was to launch everything on Big Commerce and go from there. Then one of my partners found out about web.com. They have a promotion going on now, if you do your hosting through them, then build you a free site and hand you the keys.

I need this site to integrate with Facebook, Mailchimp, Amazon, Quickbooks, etc. BC covers most of all of those things. Even if web.com doesn't is the free service the way to go for a beginning enterprise?

Mike001

As a professional web developer I am always skeptical of sites that offer free sites. There is so much to building a professional dynamic eCommerce site that when I see the word FREE I always remember the old adage, you get what you pay for. So I would highly recommend that you do some good research before making your decision. Remember if you want your site to grow and your business to grow you will want to make certain that you OWN all aspects of your initial site.

One of the draw backs I have seen with many of these FREE offers is that you never really own the intellectual property that is created for your domain. If that domain were to become popular and the site were to take off, there could be significant fees associated with building out the site to support that additional traffic and storage capabilities needed as the business grows.