Need help estimating marketing budget

elijah laughinghau

I am a professional photographer looking to monetize my unique knowledge of exotic locations into a photography tour business. I am currently projecting costs for the business plan, and the one area I have no idea how to get started on are the marketing costs. In fact, I consider marketing will be the primary focus of the business and the only possibility for success so I want to get this right. The target market is landscape photographers.

The first year objective will be to make between 72-98 sales. (1 tour per month, 6-8 people per tour). The cost will range from $2000-$6000 per person depending on location. I roughly estimate this so far, has the potential to net between 90-120k the first year after expenses if these sales goals are met (excepting the marketing budget which is not yet determined). The business will scale by hiring additional photographers to lead additional tours at additional locations, but this is the first year objective.

So my question is, what are going to to be the most effective outbound marketing channels I can employ, and how can I estimate those total costs, as well as a per customer acquisition cost estimate? Esp. how much can I plan on needing to spend the first year?

samimnoorzaitgc

Welcome to Webmastersun Elijah!

Hard question, I suggest you should split your money into parts. For example, some of your money should be used to pay your hired photographers, few more should be spent on your website's SEO improvement.

How does targeted advertisement on social media work for you?

I would like to add that you should not spend all your money right in your first year, you may not get succeed so soon and once you lost all your money you may need some savings to get everything back.

I cannot help you too much with this as I have not been working with such a campaign. There are many other great experts here on Webmastersun that will help you regarding this.

elijah laughinghau