Can I Use htaaccess file in window server?

hoangvu

New member
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
1,872
Points
0
Hi all

My Website is run on window server now. i want create new url of my website& i use to htaaccess file. can you sport me Can I Use htaaccess file in window server?


Devid Kenny
 

Holly Nicole

New member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
302
Points
0
No you can't .httcaccess is linux only are you trying to use URL Rewrite
 

mikho

New member
Joined
Dec 24, 2013
Messages
8
Points
0
You can if you install apache on your windows server. IIS does not support .htaccess.
If you are using IIS then read up on web.config files instead.
 

onliveserver

New member
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
29
Points
0
Hii,

.htaccess file doesn't support on window server/IIS due to IIS unsupportable apache module. Window server/IIS Server only support web.conf file instead of .htaccess file.
 

manoaratefy

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
13
Points
0
As told by previous posts, IIS web server doesn't understant .htaccess files. So, you have to take one of these options according to your current situation:
- You have Apache as web server. Be happy, you are ready to use any .htaccess file.
- You have IIS as web server. Translate your .htaccess file to web.config file.
- You have IIS as web server and you still want use .htaccess. So, move to Apache web server (you can still run Windows, moving to Linux is optional).
 

hostguy

New member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
20
Points
1
No IIS server does not support .htaccess file. If you want to use .htaccess file then you have to move to linux server for better support.

You have to use web.config file on IIS server.
 
Older threads
Replies
3
Views
2,652
Replies
2
Views
5,717
Newer threads
Replies
30
Views
11,322
Replies
1
Views
2,321
Latest threads
Replies
4
Views
27
Replies
2
Views
40
Replies
5
Views
37
Recommended threads

Referral contests

Referral link for :

Sponsors

Popular tags

You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an alternative browser.

Top