Multiple IP Addresses on a VPS?

harrygreen90

Active member
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
413
Points
28
Hey there,
How to run multiple IP Addresses on a VPS for multiple websites? Which I need to buy for my VPS to allow multiple IP Addresses?
 

RDO Servers

New member
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
770
Points
0
A VPS can run as many IP's as you hosting provider will allow you to use.. There is nothing else you need to be able to runultiple IP's.

Just remember, you will need proper justification before your host will give you more IP addresses.
You can already run multiple websites on a single IP, so multiple websites usually will not count as proper justification.
 

laceibanet

New member
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
43
Points
0
all you have to do is get the ip routed to the server, then just assign an ip to each domain that will use it. If you're running a control panel it's really easy, most have a register ip option and assign ip to a specific domain option too. All depends on what your setup is
 

SenseiSteve

Active member
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
215
Points
28
Hey there,
How to run multiple IP Addresses on a VPS for multiple websites? Which I need to buy for my VPS to allow multiple IP Addresses?
Have you asked your hosting provider these questions? How many IP addresses do you currently have with your hosting package? Like was mentioned earlier, running multiple websites is not justification for more IP addresses. Are there any specific reasons you need IP addresses for each of them?
 

harrygreen90

Active member
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
413
Points
28
A VPS can run as many IP's as you hosting provider will allow you to use.. There is nothing else you need to be able to runultiple IP's.

Just remember, you will need proper justification before your host will give you more IP addresses.
You can already run multiple websites on a single IP, so multiple websites usually will not count as proper justification.
If I use separate Cloudfare on each website, it can consider as a single IP?

Have you asked your hosting provider these questions? How many IP addresses do you currently have with your hosting package? Like was mentioned earlier, running multiple websites is not justification for more IP addresses. Are there any specific reasons you need IP addresses for each of them?
I am learning SEO and I have read posts on the forum each website should be putted on separate IP, it will be good for SEO.

all you have to do is get the ip routed to the server, then just assign an ip to each domain that will use it. If you're running a control panel it's really easy, most have a register ip option and assign ip to a specific domain option too. All depends on what your setup is
I have WHM and cPanel. For that, where should I add a new IP?
 

bacloud

New member
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
36
Points
0
As I know there an option in server admin panel to assign new IP addresses.

dedicated IP per website? No longer work for SEO...
 

ElixantTechnology

New member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
622
Points
0
The theory of having a Dedicated IP for each website is null and no longer practiced much anymore, content is king these days and is the main focus. I recommend ensuring that your website is mobile ready?

This specific reasoning (IP for each website) is one of the reasons why there are no more IPv4 addresses available for assignment to new or old companies from ARIN; as such most hosting providers are pretty cautious these days when it comes to addressing and will require proper justification for each address. SSL is not one of those reasons anymore either with recent advances with SLI technology....

That being said, I wouldn't worry too much about having diverse addressing.
 
Latest threads
Replies
0
Views
20
Replies
1
Views
78
Replies
1
Views
72
Replies
1
Views
116
Recommended threads
Replies
4
Views
3,231
Replies
3
Views
2,432
Replies
17
Views
4,570
Aby

Referral contests

Referral link for :

Sponsors

Popular tags

You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an alternative browser.

Top