Baby-steps to start career in Graphic Design

UmairHussain

I'm gonna honest with Y'all. I'm 25 and will be 26 this May, I've chosen my career of SEO/Digital Marketing but deep down I was always an Art-type guy (would love to draw and design).
As days passed, I studied BSCS and graduated and jumped into the Digital Marketing field, I'm very much enjoying it but I also want to restart my passion for Art and this time want to play with it digitally.

So, are there any good tips regarding starting my art digitally like going for Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop or to buy any good graphic tablets? Any suggestions will be good for me. Thanks1

sonnyside

Best answer
Hey Umair,

Art is good for you. They go hand-in-hand with digital marketing. I'm a designer myself and also have some bit of here and there in SEO. So, I can give you a bit of a tips.

For the software, you gotta go both Illustrator and Photoshop. They work well with each other. Let me highlight some pointers. You use photoshop to edit an existing image. For illustrator, you use it to create new image. Say flyers. You'd want to use Illustrator instead of photoshop. Illustrator creates the visual in vector. So, no matter how you scale it, the quality is the same. That's why it's the choice to go for when you want to design for prints. For Photoshop, it's for retouching and all those manipulation of photos or an existing image. It is less recommended to create print files with it because if you scale it, it loses it's quality.

A graphic designer needs to know both of these. After that, there's InDesign. You can create booklets with it and also vouchers where you need the running serial number. Photoshop and Illustrator can't do the serial numbering thing automatically.

As industry demands, you might find yourself doing more than just designing. Bosses tend to think that we can do video editing, animation and more...