Stripe Is Gaslighting Me!!!

hipcat

So, here is an incredibly horrible experience that I just HAD to share with all of you. Some of you may enjoy it, or even relate to it. This is my experience with using Stripe over 1 week...my negative Stripe review

As many of you know, I've been selling web traffic online for the past 15 years, and I've used a lot of payment processors over those years, including Paypal (don't get me started on those a**holes!), Skrill (useless), Payoneer, Payza, Paxum, ePay, SolidTrustPay, etc, blah, blah, blah....

So, when I was looking to add a new one I thought I'd try Stripe, as my traffic selling competitors also use them. I contacted their sales team first to ask if my website was ok by their terms and they replied TWICE that it was fine. So far, so good. So, I signed up and spent HOURS myself creating checkout pages and adding their payment links on my site and I had my first sale with them right away and it went through without an issue. Still good.

Then, the day after, I got an email asking me to clarify what I sell so it isn't against their terms. I told them I sell web traffic, just like the other traffic sites that use the Stripe payments service. Then the next email I got said they CLOSED my account because it was against their terms with a link to their prohibited list, which I read carefully and nothing applied to my site. I asked them to clarify what it was, specifically, that was a problem. Then I got another email with the same vague answer with a link to the same page. UGH!! I was starting to get frustrated....I wanted a straight answer!!!!

I then contacted the originally sales rep and he told me AGAIN that my site was fine, as long as I didn't allow the "Sale of Twitter followers, Facebook likes, YouTube views, and other forms of social media activity", Well, good thing I DON"T sell that!! I told them I just sell web traffic and advertising, but not social media stuff, so I should be good, right? Wrong!!!