How long does it take to learn how to create web apps?

CyberAlchemist

I have noticed web programmers nowadays sell software packages or web apps. I know sometimes they outsource them but I was wondering if one can build one fast without previous experience or what things do we need to learn to create this.

Thanks in advance.

Developer

Hey CA,

The length of time required to build out web apps (or software) depends on how extensive of an app you are building. As a programmer myself, I can spit out some apps in about 20 minutes, while some may take up to 20 weeks, months even. I am sure this answer is not as useful as you were hoping, and I am sure I could go into much more length, but the bottom line is, as I said, dependent upon the actual app and how determined you are to get it out to the masses.

As far as being able to build one without previous knowledge, well, if I sat you in front of a piano, could you play the national anthem for me? Probably not, right? Same here. You would need SOME type of prior experience or knowledge to be able to spit out something half-way decent at least.

Web Marketing Tool

When doing Web Apps one important thing to keep in mind is how much of a pain testing can be. Web Apps cache differently and require additional steps to see changes you did. Also, even though Web Apps are less device dependent than Mobile Apps they still have many device specific items when you start making bigger applications.

If you are well familiar with html, javascript and css then I would say a weekend crash course (of 3-6 hours a day depending on your learning speed) will get you your first Web App installed on your phone and your first round set of revisions and dealing with the frustrations of doing updates in Web App development.