What is the difference between digital marketing and internet marketing?

rainmaker11

What is the difference between digital marketing and internet marketing, what is the latest trend in the industry and how do big companies choose marketing strategies for their companies? Does it require more budget to do marketing?

digital-marketing-vs-internet-marketing.jpg

I have read an article and from their explaining image, seem digital marketing is a broad term and included internet marketing?

Ron Killian

I think of them being the same thing. But I am not an marketing expert. Though you have to wonder if it's a new or latest buzz word. That internet marketing now sounds old and boring and digital marketing sounds so new and exciting?

Or a slightly different segment.

If you look at the top part of the image, most of that is still internet marketing. Where else would you advertising digitally? Maybe television. But much of television is internet based too, no?

But again, what doesn't have internet connectivity these days? For what does, it could still be considered internet marketing.

I don't understand the big difference. Maybe some one else can shed some light. :)

EpicGlobalWeb

Digital marketing may encompass all of internet marketing but with additional form factors. For instance, you can market or premarket existing customers with apps. You can do this also with the incorporation of emerging digital markets.

For instance, if you had developed a competing marketplace for cell phone apps, you could tailor it for marketing purposes.

With the Emergence of new surface devices you may find that advertisements will begin to show up in other forms like car computers, digital mirrors, game consoles and similar.

So they are similar but digital marketing is much more broad than standard internet marketing.

Hawker